Dō Meditation 道禪

Category: tabs

Level 1

Level 1 – Opening the Door Meditation is an introduction to Do Meditation. This meditation is only intended to be practiced for a short period of time. It is a means for a Do Meditation practitioner to learn the ins and outs of Do Meditation, prior to undertaking the more advanced meditations. The breath counting meditation is introduced at this level. This meditation is a simple way for the practitioner to begin to be able to focus the mind.

Read More

Level 2

Level 2 – The Eight Trigram Meditations comprise the first non-introductory level of Do Meditation. These meditations start to slowly reign in the random thoughts of the practitioner’s mind. The elemental manifestations of the eight trigrams are used as focal points for these meditations. This level also introduces more advanced and strenuous exercising meditations that aid in directing the mind’s focus.

Read More

Level 3

Level 3 – The Five Element Meditations are based on the elements: Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal and Water. In each of these meditations, the mind is focused on a different colored breath. While the Eight Trigram Meditations are primarily concerned with focusing the mind on one concept, the Five Element Meditations help tonify or cleanse various organs and promote positive emotions. Because the breath is a somewhat obscure concept, these meditations tend to take much longer than the Eight Trigram Meditations to master.

Read More